PUSHIN’ ‘EM Daily Painting #912

PUSHIN' 'EM

Oil on Panel / 6 x 6 Inches

If you would like to own this painting, just send your bid in an email to: farnsworthgallery@newmex.com, or call Thea at 505 982-4561.

I don't know where this one came from. I just felt like doing it. Felt good, too. Sort of like an oil version of my confections, those ink line and watercolor wash pieces that I haven't been doing enough of lately. Well, I'm thinking pretty seriously about getting in a plane headed south and giving Betsy a little rest, even though she hasn't complained even once since good ol' Austin Stockdale in victorville made her all better!

I've never been to a Latin country for Semana Santa, and I think that is something I would like to experience at least once. I was in La Peñita de Jaltemba during Easter, back in '73. But that was just a matter of city dwellers from Guadalajara and Tepic coming to the beach to cover it in litter and themselves in multiple layers of sunburn. Neither was a pretty sight. No, I'm thinking more along the lines of religous ceremony and ritual, saints paraded through the streets and all that.

The difficult thing is deciding where to go. Mexico beckons, as always, but so do Guatemala, Uruguay and Argentina. Not to mention Spain's Pueblos Blancos. And only a couple of days to decide. If any of you know of a good house sitting gig, that could be the deciding factor.

I had a nice visit with Jim Ballinger at the Phoenix Art Museum, whom I had not seen in several years. The Museum has grown some 400% since I last visited. Amazing!

Then it was off to a most enjoyable dinner with my good friend and collector Tim Thomas. Lots of reminiscing and catching up! Tim follows this blog, and I swear, he knows more about what I've been doing and where I've been than I do!

Click Here to see my Daily Photographs.

Please remember that if you would like to commission a larger version of your favorite subject, if you would like to check on the availability of a given image, or if you would like to schedule a workshop, we are just a phone call away, at 505 982-4561, or you can email us at: john@johnfarnsworth.com

Are you enjoying these daily paintings, photos and writings? If you are, please help us out by clicking on the Google+, Facebook, Twitter and other Icons below. Share us with your friends. And, by all means, leave a comment. Thanks

 

8 thoughts on “PUSHIN’ ‘EM Daily Painting #912

  1. Beautiful “action” painting. One can see and almost feel the speed and power of this horse-rider team. Wonderful texture!

    1. Thanks, Lucia. Glad you like it. It’s quite different for me to do this sort of painting, I hope to do more.

      On Thursday, March 14, 2013, A FARNSWORTH A DAY / Daily Painting Auction wrote:

      > > New comment on your post “PUSHIN’ ‘EM Daily Painting #912” > Author : Lucia (IP: 92.106.77.69 , 69-77.106-92.cust.bluewin.ch) > E-mail : luka1@bluewin.ch > URL : > Whois : http://whois.arin.net/rest/ip/92.106.77.69

  2. THE ONLY SCARY PART
    re: Your Comment on “When a Painter Snaps” 3/14/13

    exercise machines stand waiting
    lurking in straight lines daredevils
    who taunt their next victim
    with their silent stares
    their raucous inner voices
    enough to frighten any
    out-of-shape victim away

    some of them are like bucking
    broncos only the savvy can stay on
    while others reminders of airport conveyor
    belts only this time you are going
    nowhere strange to be walking
    sweat running down your forehead
    going nowhere, absolutely nowhere

    I know, I know they are supposed to be
    good for you…help make you stronger
    as in “what doesn’t kill you….”
    So, Primo, I know the feeling.
    I’d stay away from them…just smile
    nod politely as you walk on by
    quickly unless on reaches out
    and grabs you and your daily blogs
    become a thing of the past!

    1. Hi Kayce,
      Isn’t it strange, living in a time and place where people have to go to fitness centers and be trained to exercise? Whatever happened to work and play?
      Hasta pronto,
      Su Primo

  3. Showing what the rider is going thru and breathing in a lot of dust. Movies never show this. This picture tells the truth about hot dusty trails. You are right about work and play. Today all a person wants is a job for money. They really don’t want to work, they just want the money.

  4. You are talkin’ to me, Kayce. Nowhere, absolutely nowhere….Unlike this rider, who is goin’ somewhere,doin’ something. .

Leave a Reply

