WHEN SUDDENLY A SHOT RANG OUT Daily Painting #921

WHEN SUDDENLY A SHOT RANG OUT

Oil on Panel / 6 x 6 Inches

If you would like to own this painting, just send your bid in an email to: farnsworthgallery@newmex.com, or call Thea at 505 982-4561.

Because I grew up in the west it has always been a part of me, yet I always resisted being pigeonholed as a “Western Artist”. I always felt that was too limiting. There are too many non-western subjects that are attractive to me. Now, though, I'm seeing the influence of all those good old shoot 'em up cowboy movies that thrilled me so as a boy sitting in the front row at the Sultana in Williams, the Orpheum in Flagstaff and the Rialto in Winslow.

Sure, I loved Pirate movies; Tarzan of the Apes was a favorite, as long as Johnny Weismuller was Tarzan, anyway. Lon Chaney as the Wolfman, Spencer Tracy as Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, leo Gorcey and the Bowery Boys, all the detective movies, even musicals delighted me. But it was the cowboys that really got under my skin and into my blood and that are now coming out so often in these daily paintings.

Click Here to see my Daily Photographs

NOTE:

I spent quite a bit of time recently, responding to comments on previous posts. For some unknown reason, most of them never showed up on the blog. I'm working on a solution. In the meantime, I hope all of you who have left comments here and on whenapaintersnaps know how very much your comments are appreciated and how important they are to me, especially when I'm tempted to falter.

It can be especially difficult to keep both blogs going on a daily basis while traveling. I can't always respond, but I always read and appreciate them.

I would love to see more dialog forming between those who follow my blogs and comment on them. Hint, hint.

Please remember that if you would like to commission a larger version of your favorite subject, if you would like to check on the availability of a given image, or if you would like to schedule a workshop, we are just a phone call away, at 505 982-4561, or you can email us at: john@johnfarnsworth.com

Are you enjoying these daily paintings, photos and writings? If you are, please help us out by clicking on the Google+, Facebook, Twitter and other Icons below. Share us with your friends. And, by all means, leave a comment. Thanks.


 

One thought on “WHEN SUDDENLY A SHOT RANG OUT Daily Painting #921

  1. What a great storyteller you are, John. The way he is pulled up so abruptly really comes through. It is a wild day, with turbulent clouds and the horse is feeling wild too. What will happen next?!

Leave a Reply

