APPLES / Daily Painting #963

Oil on Paper Mounted on Panel / 6 x 6 Inches

FINDING A STILL LIFE

Hmmm, it's also been over a month since I painted a fruit painting, another of my favorite subjects. This one is a slightly different take on the found still life idea.

Several years ago, I did some still life set ups. Formal things, with the subjects carefully arranged. They just never seemed right to me, though. That's when I started leaving things more to chance, preferring to find naturally occurring arrangements. Finally, as a result of my Old Masters' Series, in which I took horses, mainly, as well as dogs and, even, occasionally, fruit or flowers out of Old Masters' paintings, making them larger than in the original, and more important, by completely changing their context, I began extracting new compositions from my own research images.

When I came across a series of those early reference photos, I saw new possibilities in them that I had overlooked before. I loaded a few into the PhotoForge App on my iPad and started cropping. Lo and behold, I found a bunch of still life subjects I didn't know I already had at hand. I couldn't wait to give this one life.

Sometimes I'm glad I never throw away my research photographs, even if I don't know at first why I'm keeping them. Ain't life Grand?

NOTE! I have a special new WORKSHOP coming up in July. Click HERE for details. I hope you can join us.

Click Here to see my Daily Photographs.

Please remember that if you would like to commission a larger version of your favorite subject, if you would like to check on the availability of a given image, or if you would like to schedule a workshop, we are just a phone call away, at 505 982-4561, or you can email us at: john@johnfarnsworth.com

 

One thought on “APPLES / Daily Painting #963

  1. I agree. You have made your life grand doing what you love the most. Your happy feelings really show in your paintings and remarks. Have always loved green apples. Yours really looks delicious with the texture and colors you used showing them with great pleasure and delight.

Leave a Reply

