BLACKIE / Daily Painting #963

Oil on Paper Mounted on Panel / 6 x 6 Inches

Cute. Not a word in especially great regard these days. But when I saw this antique typewriter in the Autry Museum in Los Angeles' Griffith Park, my first thought was “Cute!”. Seeing it pleased me. Painting it pleased me. I hope it pleases you, too. Nothin' wrong with cute!

I've often said that every problem I've had with computers, and I've had plenty lately, is worth it. Just not having to deal with a carriage return at the end of every line of type is a real blessing. Now that I do most of my typing on an iPad, I have a difficult time understanding those who say they can't. Maybe they just don't give it a chance? I definitely prefer it over my netbook.

One thing my mother insisted I learn in high school was typing. It had saved her more than once, as a single Mom, in need of a way to make a living. She saw it as something I could always fall back on, if necessary, as she had.

Then there was my uncle Si, a freight dispatcher for the Santa Fe Railroad. When I was six or seven, and visiting him at work, he showed me how he could type. Then he showed me that he could look over his shoulder, talk to me, and type, all at the same time. I was so impressed, and marked for life. I studied typing throughout high school, I took every typing class I could while in the Army.

In later years, I taught myself to type carefully and accurately by making myself tear the paper out and start over if I made a mistake, even if I was on the last word on an otherwise perfect page. That sounds harsh, I know, but it was effective. I was never a speed typist, but I became a heck of an accurate typist! And since I didn't spend all my time rubbing holes in the paper with an eraser, or piling on layers of goopy white-out, I was probably the equal of a lot of typists who could do a lot more words per minute. The story of the Tortoise and the Hare comes to mind.

So, what's with all the mistakes and typos on my blogs? Ooof! That's a good question. One that just now occurred to me. I can think of no valid excuse. I don't know what I'm going to do about it, but I am going to go to work on fixing it, starting now!

Happy Mother's Day, all you great Moms out there. And now, I would like you to meet my Mom, who taught me to read, to type, to think for myself, and so much more…

Click Here to see my Daily Photographs.

NOTE! I have a special new WORKSHOP coming up in July. Click HERE for details. I hope you can join us.

Please remember that if you would like to commission a larger version of your favorite subject, if you would like to check on the availability of a given image, or if you would like to schedule a workshop, we are just a phone call away, at 505 982-4561, or you can email us at: john@johnfarnsworth.com

 

5 thoughts on “BLACKIE / Daily Painting #963

  1. I learned to type on one of these in the 8th grade in Long Beach, Calif. All of us typing made a ton of noise, but it was hard yet fun to peck away on these. Our teacher was “Miss Palet”. My husband had the same teacher! You are taking us back in time!

  2. I saw the photo of your Mom. She was a beauty, and strong. Glad you got all the things from her to prepare you for life. That’s what Mom’s need to do!

  3. Johnny! I love this post and painting. You are so good at everything thing you take on. Keep striving for perfection but this fan things you are already perfect.

  4. Great painting John…cute at it’s CUTest!! Love how you handled the background.
    And you’ve always been way smarter than me apparently. Our typing teacher was our preacher on Sundays and we mostly fooled around in typing! I wondered when I’d ever need THAT!!! I saw him a year or so ago and he was very gratified to get my apology and the news that he was right all along.

  5. I remember learning to type on these too. It was hard for me to get my speed up the way my teacher wanted. You had to press hard on the keys and if you made a mistake the mess trying to clear it was not easy. I like the way we can type now. Working at Farmers Insurance and having computers and key boards made it very easy to type 75 words a minute. Could never done that with the old typewriters. Seeing this one really brings back memories.

Leave a Reply

