TASAF KACHINA / Daily Painting #1042

Watercolor / 7 x 9 inches

I've painted this Kachina, and, in fact, this particular doll, fom my own collection, previously on this blog. In fact, this doll was the subject of my first Kachina painting, in the 1960s. To learn more, just search for the name, Tasaf, above. This Hopi Kachina is a representation of their neighbors, the Navajo.

As you can see, I've decided to continue the current series of watercolors. i haven't, however, decided how long this will continue, nor, for that matter, what size I will eventually settle on. My best guess at the moment is that they will settle around 6 x 9 inches. I will probably alternate between the oils and the watercolors.

If you would like to own today's painting, just send your bid in an email to: farnsworthgallery@newmex.com, or call Thea at 505 982-4561

Click Here to see my Daily Photographs

Please remember that if you would like to commission a larger version of your favorite subject, if you would like to check on the availability of a given image, or if you would like to schedule a workshop, we are just a phone call away, at 505 982-4561, or you can email us at: john@johnfarnsworth.com

 

10 thoughts on “TASAF KACHINA / Daily Painting #1042

  1. This is beautiful. I am glad you are doing watercolor. Do you use white watercolor along with your other 3 colors? Would it be okay if I sent you an occasional watercolor to critique?
    I’m painting every day. Thank you For inspiring me, John.
    Donna Hunt

    1. Hi Donna, and thank you.

      Yes, I do sometimes use white in my watercolors, but rarely and sparingly, as I prefer to leave the white of the paper. For that I do not ever use frisket or other masking materials. Instead, I plan ahead and paint around areas that need to stay white. In the demo of the little chapel, after returning home, I added a small dot of white for the light above the door. I had forgotten about it while painting the demo.

      Occasionally I will scratch out a highlight using the point of a knife.

      In order to make a white center of interest really stand out, I will put darker darks next to or around it, and tone down all other whites very slightly. Sometimes all it takes is a light brushing over with just a clean, wet brush.

      I am happy to occasionally critique the work of former students, as time allows.

      I am delighted to hear that you are painting every day. Now, if I could just inspire you to start a blog! 😉

      I see that you have signed up for A Farnsworth A Day. Welcome aboard!

  2. So glad you are continuing–I really missed having these daily treats (eye candy) and messages from you. THANK YOU LOTS ! xo Janet

  3. OH! Yes, eye-candy. Beautifully executed. I bet you had fun doing this!
    “Color Shapes, Shapes of Color”. I get it!

  4. Morning CB,
    This watercolor is so interesting, given your ‘beginning on it in the 60’s’. The colors are delightfully brilliant but more two dimensional than an oil/acrylic. You are able to maximize the strengths of whichever media you use. Thanks for the lesson. (As a land.arch. I have always been drawn to the speed and quicksilver nature of the watercolor.) YOU are the Master JOHN!

    1. Thanks, Cuzbro, I do love working in watercolor. And I love your response.

      I may have caused some confusion, though. I painted this doll in the sixties, and have a few times since. But this one is all new. Same subject, different painting.

      1. Yep! I understand. And I think it’s cool that you’ve gone back to this piece d’art (& others) over the years.
        We “inactive artists” [“wish-we-were(s)”] see our favorite objects as if they were ‘old friends’ but seldom look at them w/ a fresh eye like you have done here.
        Damn. . . you’re smart!!!

  5. I will try again to send this thru. I like the new ideas you are working with. Makes your blog more enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing more of them.

Leave a Reply

