TRES OREJAS / Daily Painting #1110

Watercolor / 6 x 8 inches

If you would like to own today's painting, send your bid (Minimum $200) in an email to: farnsworthgallery@newmex.com, or call Thea at 505 982-4561.

Thea and I had to take care of some shopping in Albuquerque, and I was anxious to make a test run, prior to my upcoming travels, so we drove down late on Friday and spent Saturday there. Our business taken care of, we did some shopping. While Thea was in the mall, I stayed in the car, in the parking lot, to do some work on my iPad.

But I decided this might be a good time to do the day's painting. I remembered that I had a tiny palette in one pocket, and a small reservoir brush and a pen in another.

I had tried, on the way from Taos, to capture a snapshot of a view I had long wanted to paint. Tres Orejas (Three Ears, a local landmark) as seen from The Horseshoe curve on hiway 518 as it skirts the base of the Picuris mountains.

I was scrolling through my shots, and there it was! So, here it is transformed into a watercolor painted while sitting in the car, using these small, very transportable tools. I deem it a trial run success!

Thea returned just as I was finishing, and caught me in the act with her iPhone.

This little child's novelty tin palette had set me back some seventy nine cents when I purchased it years ago as a joke, thinking it would be fun to have it lying around conspicuously in the studio. A few days ago, though, it occured to me to remove the small pans of dubious quality paints, and replace them with my own favorites. With this in the watch pocket of my jeans, that little reservoir brush filled with water, and a pen, all I need is some paper and a subject, and I'm ready to travel.


Please remember that if you would like to:

  • Commission a larger version of your favorite subject,
  • Check on the availability of a given image, or
  • Schedule a workshop

We are just a phone call away, at 505 982-4561, or you can email us at: john@johnfarnsworth.com.

3 thoughts on “TRES OREJAS / Daily Painting #1110

  1. GREAT PAINTING – I’M ALWAYS AMAZED HOW LITTLE YOU NEED TO CREATE THESE IMAGES. . . IF YOU FORGET YOUR SEVENTY NINE CENT TIN USE COFFEE – A GREAT SEPIA. . . .
    KEEP A WET BRUSH !

  2. Oh My Gosh! The painting is a precious one. The mountain..like a jewel. And I am having trouble not coveting the tiny paint box!

Leave a Reply

