PALACIO DE BELLAS ARTES EN LA NOCHE / Daily Painting #1212

Palacio de Bellas Artes en la Noche / Watercolor / 6 x 9 inches

Here's the watercolor version of the Palace of Fine Arts in the Night, in Mexico City, that I promised you yesterday.

HOW TO BID: (see below)

The day was spent mostly on various chores, such as currency exchange, finding and buying a sim card for my iPad, finding our way around, discovering how out of shape we are, having a couple of nice meals, etc.

Speaking of the iPad, I finally bit the bullet and am now traveling with only the iPad. No laptop, notebook, netbook, just my iPad. It really is all I need and then some. Truth is, it's virtually all I use at home. About the only use I have for anything more is access to my terabytes of saved images.

Here's something I wrote recently about using the iPad:

TYPING ON AN iPAD

This is a typing test. Why a typing test? Because, although I feel fine with typing on the iPad, I keep reading blog posts, etc, claiming it's impossible to do any amount of serious typing on an iPad.

Are they kidding? They should go out to a junk store, by an old manual typewriter and try some really serious typing. Or even an electric typewriter.

I was fortunate to grow up typing on a “portable” that weighed about as much as my last desktop computer.

I became a fairly fast and quite accurate typist. I could type around fifty words per minute, and if I made a mistake, even at the end of a page, I would tear it out and start over. I soon learned to make very few mistakes.

However, when writing something original, as opposed to just typing, I often resorted to two finger typing. This slowed me down a bit, of course, but it also gave me time to think about, consider, and plan what I was writing.

My first computer came with a noisy, clackety keyboard. I loved it. It was a great bridge between the old and the new. I still have it, and, if I ever again have need of a full size keyboard, I look forward to clacking away on it.

I have owned several laptop and notebook computers. I have never liked typing on any of them. Their keyboards all felt squishy to me.

Now I have an iPad. My third, actually. I usually type with two fingers. I've gotten used to the light touch required, compared to the pounding the old typewriters required. Those old timers usually had keys that required varying amounts of pressure, too, which made typing on a different machine difficult at first.

Some of you readers may remember, as I do, the terrible annoyances of stuck keys. (If you went too fast, several keys would arrive at the platen simultaneously, and get stuck together like comedians in an elevator door. And the carriage return. My eternal thanks to Gates, Jobs, and all the others who have freed me from the annoying bell and the need to stop in the middle of a sentence, the middle of a thought, to throw the carriage back to start a new line. Too light a touch, and your line would start as though indented, too much effort, and the damn thing could go shooting across the room. Oh, and that one, uneven, often clogged, or partly missing font.

There is one thing I do miss, though. Not the ugly green plastic keys of my portable, but the beautiful, steam punk, brass rimmed, gold lettered on a black background keys of the old standards and uprights. In fact, I first started using the Blogsy App to prepare my posts because of their beautiful logo!

Well, I just typed this little rant on my iPad, and I could go on for pages more, but lunch is calling. So let me just say that I have no desire to go back to typing on a typewriter, standard or portable, nor on a desktop, OK, maybe with my old clacker keyboard, on occasion, not on a laptop, a notebook, or a netbook.

And I don't plan on getting an external keyboard for my iPad. Simplicity rules, and that is one less thing to carry.

PS So far, I don't use a stylus, either. I prefer to work digitally. One for drawing, two for typing, though sometimes one will do, or even three or four. Digits, that is. Digits, get it? Ah, never mind. 😉

There. A little over six hundred words and no external keyboard need apply.

HOW TO BID:

Bidding opens when a painting is posted and ends at midnight one week later (MST) Mountain Standard Time.

Send your bid (Minimum $200.00) by email to: farnsworthgallery@newmex.com

Highest bid wins. In case of a tie for highest bid, the earliest wins. If payment is not made within 1 week, sale goes to second highest bidder. If you do not receive a confirmation, please call 505 982-4561 for assistance.

The winning bidder will be notified by email the following day.

We accept MasterCard, Visa, and American Express.

Winning Paintings will be shipped as soon as the funds clear and the paint is dry. Wet paint can take up to two weeks to be safe for shipping.

If you're not 100% satisfied with your new painting, for any reason, send it back and we will send you a full refund along with a free box of chocolates!

Please consult the artist prior to any reproduction or other use of the image. See also: Use an Image page above.

If you would like some expert help with framing your purchase, just call Thea, 505 982-4561, and she will take good care of you.

Also, please remember that if you would like to:

  • Commission a larger version of your favorite subject,
  • Check on the availability of a given image, or
  • Schedule a workshop

We are just a phone call away, at 505 982-4561, or you can email us at: john@johnfarnsworth.com.

2 thoughts on “PALACIO DE BELLAS ARTES EN LA NOCHE / Daily Painting #1212

  1. When looking at the black and white one and this one makes it hard to believe both came from the same building. Your artistry ability keeps getting better and better.

Leave a Reply

