CALAKAS DANCING Part Nine / Daily Painting #1248

Shake, rattle, and roll!

Here it is, Gang. My first serious attempt at digital painting. Remember the iPhone image we started with?

This is what I mean by argue with the photograph. Make it your own. Take it beyond the photo.

I had a good and productive day, today. Up at 9:30, and went to work on Calakas Dancing, then off to Sanborn's Casa de Azulejos, or House of Tiles Lunch counter for a late breakfast around one o'clock.

While waiting for my order, I did some sketching on my iPhone. I have never been able to develop a habit of sketching in public. I have tried it occasionally, but never felt compelled to continue. Not so with the iPhone. I feel much less obvious and self conscious than when using a sketchbook and pen or pencil. And I'm liking the results.

,

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These were done in an app called Sketji, and for the next one, I switched to ArtRage4 for the iPhone:

I went back to the hotel for a while, then to the Sears building for a cup of espresso on the eighth floor, our ninth, balcony overlooking el Palacio de Bellas Artes, where I made one more sketch using ArtRage4. I really like this app!

I took a walk to see an interesting rental, but the owner was not interested in renting short term. Back at the hotel, I worked on Calakas Dancing until a little past ten, waled a block to the other Sanborn's for a chicken dinner and back to my room to finish the painting and start working on this post.

I can hardly wait to see what tomorrow brings.

¡Hasta Mañana!

 

8 thoughts on “CALAKAS DANCING Part Nine / Daily Painting #1248

    1. Thanks, Cheryl.
      I’ve been reading about how much some artists love using a pressure sensitive brush stylus and may give it a try. So far, though, I’ve been happy using just my finger.
      You know me, I like to keep it simple. Also, I’ve been pretty busy with learning the application and its capabilities.
      I do like the direct touch of using my finger. It reminds me of working in pastel, but without the mess.
      And for travel, less is definitely more.

  1. You did unoubtedly a great job with this digital painting, John, but, personally, I prefer your water color and oil paintings. I love the brushwork of your originals and the little imperfections, which really are no imperfections at all, if you know what I mean. When are you leaving for Spain? That is almost in my neighborhood;-)!

    1. Hi Lucia,
      Thanks, and I understand your preferences. This, of course, is my first attempt, and an exploration of and introduction to the medium.
      Don’t worry, I will still be working in oils and in watercolor, but for travel and for sketching in public, this is an amazing way to go.
      I’m also thinking it could be a fantastic teaching tool.
      By the way, if you click on the image and enlarge it, I think you will find enough imperfections, good and bad, to keep you entertained until I get back into the studio.
      As to Spain, I’ll be working on flights today, and hoping to leave in a day or two. So far they’ve wanted to route me through London, Hamburg, Vienna, Düsseldorf, and more, but not yet Zurich. 😉 would love it if we could meet up somewhere.

Leave a Reply

