FLAMENCO SMA / Daily Painting #1262

Flamenco SMA / Painted on my iPad Air / ArtRage3

Due to all the Semana Santa activities, there is little or no Flamenco activity this week in Jerez de la Frontera. But I've been itching to paint Flamenco. So, I decided to start by doing a painting based on a Flamenco dance that Thea and I attended last month in San Miguel de Allende.

i started by doing the first sketch (see above) which I rejected. I did the second sketch, and decided to build on it. I worked on it as you can see in the next two images, then I blocked in the darkest areas, followed by the lightest areas.

Once the background was fairly well established, I added color to the central figure. i then merged all the existing layers, and created a new layer above the image. On this layer, I did all the tightening up, shading, and general fine tuning that resulted in Flamenco SMA.

Following a slow start, catching up on email and some reading, I walked up to the Korean Sushi restaurant on the other side of Plaza Arenal for lunch and had a nice meal of fresh water eel and rice with some grass-like green and Korean sauce. Good eel, but not as good as at AJ's on Lincoln in Scottsdale.

After lunch, i picked up my laundry and came back to the room to change. Around four, I decided I would do my painting, and then go out for a light dinner around eight. Just as I was wrapping up, ArtRage crashed, and I lost three hours of work. So I stayed in, made a sandwich, and started over.

The good news is that I think the piece came out better the second time, and I now have a good new habit of backing up my work in ArtRage every few minutes.

It's suddenly 1:15 in the morning, and I can still hear the drums of the processions. But I don't think they will keep me from a sound sleep.

¡Hasta Mañana!

 

4 thoughts on “FLAMENCO SMA / Daily Painting #1262

Leave a Reply

