MORE IMPRESSIONS OF CAMPECHE, MEXICO

Mosaic mural on a public building in Campeche

I love Mexico because when I squeeze A lime, a lot of juice comes out.

I like the way the traffic flows here, too. Most of the time.

I'll do a post on that when I have a minute.

On the other hand, there are days like today.

I checked the balance on my debit card and it was good to go. So I went. To the airport. Just in time for my flight to Mexico City on Interjet. (Love that name.)

My card was declined. And Interjet would not take dollars. While negotiating, the flight was closed.

I went next door to Aeromexico. They had a flight leaving in one hour. Card declined. OK, cash? Nope, they would not take dollars, either. A few pesos short. Tried the ATM. SORRY, try again later. I did. Same result.

Back to Interjet again for tomorrow's flight. Card declined. Came up with just enough cash after senior discount! Bought a ticket. Cab to town. Card declined at hotel. Walked to ATM, withdrew necessary pesos without a hitch(?).

Stopped for quick lunch, Email from Thea saying fraud department had her approve two hundred dollars airline charges plus hotel charge!?! The ticket I bought was only $110. Back to hotel. No record of approval. Tried card again and this time, it worked.

Upstairs to room. Not as requested. Back down stairs to change. Back up to new room. This one looked just right, so I undressed and got ready to rest and prpare a post, then maybe a quick nap.

Wifi would not connect.

Dressed and went downstairs again. Clerk tried and tried and made phone calls in search of a solution. Nada. Tried repeatedly then all of a sudden my iPhone got a connection.

I raced back upstairs. Wifi had disconnected and the password again didn't work. Back down the stairs. Did I mention, no elevator?

The “engineer” was sent for. What appeared to be a high school sophomore showed up after about ten minutes. Tried everything. No luck. Said something long and in rapid fire Spanish that seemed to include back in ten minutes. He was, and with a laptop. Tried everything again. Same results. More rapid fire which, this time, included gestures indicating far away, which is where I guess he went. Maybe he'll be back. We'll see.

Maybe I'll have a little siesta.

I did.

Then I got dressed and went out to photograph around seven. As I left my room, the wifi started working, or should I say laboring weakly. Very weakly. So I went on with my walking and shooting.

Around eight, I settled in to my favorite restaurant for a bowl of seafood soup, and to use their wifi. The soup was good, but their chairs proved too hard for my old bones, so I think I'll move on.

And here I am once again in the Italian Coffe Company for some reliable wifi. And Cafe Americano.

Pardon the rant, Now, as a thank you for your patience, some more impressions of Campeche:

A new take on the Eagle and Snake from the Mexican flag

An interesting mural on the wall of the Best Western Motel

Waiting for the return of the pirates

The Bay of Campeche in the Gulf of Mexico

Just one block from the citipy's elegant Cathedral, there is this church
Inside, though, I found some good research for my Faces of Saints series

 

Sunday evening and the central plaza was crowded with people playing what appeared to be a form of Bingo

I actually got a big smile a millisecond later

That's it for today, folks. More tomorrow, I hope.

Hasta Mańana

 

 

9 thoughts on “MORE IMPRESSIONS OF CAMPECHE, MEXICO

  1. I feel as though I was standing beside you the whole while… smile’in!!!
    Thanks for the rich experience Cuzbro.

  2. Thanks for reporting on an amusing day. Up & down those stairs & back and forth to those ATMs. Between the knees working and the clenched jaws pondering the potential of bitcoins… that was quite a day. THANK YOU for the two days of fascinating pics Cuzbro.

  3. Hi John, I’m delighted to hear from you again on a daily basis and don’t worry about ranting. We’re all happy to share the good and not so good days with you:-)!

  4. You really amaze me. Love seeing all these beautiful pictures. The builders really had admiration and love making the buildings and streets.

Leave a Reply

