A TIME FOR CHANGE

iPhone 6+ / Snapseed / PhotoForge2

The time has come for some changes.

As you have probably noticed, I am no longer doing the daily paintings. I stopped for a short while to catch my breath and to think about all the other things I wanted to do. Things like larger paintings, more photography, more drawing and sketching, video and writing, tutorials and demonstrations, etc.

That short while has become a rather long while. Posts have become irregular in theIr timing. Other matters have crept in and taken over my time since letting go of the discipline of daily painting and posting.

I am working toward a goal of combining all these other interests with a return to that sense of discipline.

First of all, I am going to begin by posting something every day. Even if it’s just a sketch or a thought.

Somedays, as has been the pattern lately, I will do a longer post, a post about my travels, or a larger project I’m working on, or… who knows what?

I’m also thinking of breaking this blog into six or seven individual blogs, one for painting, one for watercolors, another for drawings. Others might be for sketches, photographs, or travel.

This would make it possible to sign up for just the ones that appeal to you. Posts would not come as often, unless you chose to sign up for all of them, but I would still be comitted to creatIng a daily post, spread over multiple blogs.

I hope that makes sense to you. I’m trying to get my head around the concept as I type.

What do you think? What would you like more of?

I welcome your comments, ideas, and suggestions.

 

 

16 thoughts on “A TIME FOR CHANGE

  1. I love your drawings and your quick watercolors. You have an unusual eye, and your photos are interesting, but not as interesting to me as they are mostly not in N.M . Keep up the good work and keep me posted on workshops. Cameron

    1. Hi Cameron, so good to hear from you. I’m going to try and keep things balanced and hope everyone will just glide past the things of least interest to them, but hang in there for the parts they like the most.

      I would love to see your recent work. And a chance to visit.

      I don’t have any workshops planned at the moment, but will announce them here when I do.

      Thanks for your input.

  2. Primo, I think you are missing the discipline of a daily post and it should be what you want it to be. What you enjoy most. Dividing it into categories seems confusing and may be overwhelming for you, altho it is hard to imaging that! I am drawn to both your paintings and your photos. Don’t think you should give up either. How about a weekly post? That way you are still keeping to a schedule and it not be overwhelming. By the way, I love the way the horses and you are looking at me. Now I have become a bit self-concious. Hasta Luego, Kayce

    1. Haha, here’s lookin’ at you, kid!

      I’ll try to explain the multiple posts idea a little more clearly on today’s post (Monday). But it’s looking like most prefer a varied diet.

      As for posting weekly, every third day, etc., I believe I would find that more difficult to maintain than a daily post. There’s something about me that if I discover I can miss a day, it can too easily turn into a few days. Or weeks. Or, gasp, months. I think it’s a matter of inertia.

      I will try, though, to vary the length of my posts so I can get some other things done, too. Like paint more!

      Thanks for your input.

  3. Thank you for all that you have sent–over the many yrs or so it seems. I am greedy to continue to see as many as you will send and find it too hard to choose between sketches and paintings: I like them all! Each has come as a surprise– I don’t mind if it is irregular but I do hope you will continue to keep me on your list!!

    MANY THANKS FOR CONTINUING TO SEND ME YOUR SURPRISES !! AND THANKS FOR ASKING MY OPINIONS! Janet Kurtz

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. I do love change for the better. We have to keep growing. Onward and upward. That’s what I say. I think C.S. Lewis said it first.
    Will be waiting to see the direction. Be true to yourself.

    1. You are so right, Cheryl! If we’re not growing, we’re decaying. Not ready for that, yet.

      Hopefully, the best way to keep all of you interested is to keep myself interested.

      Thanks as always for your input.

  5. What ever you do I am all for it. Have really enjoyed everything you have done and I know I will enjoy what you have for the future.

  6. I like the fact that you think of a way to make your posts even more appealing and attractive. I am fascinated with your paintings, drawings, photography and sketching. What I am saying is that I would sign up for all of them:-). And if daily postings are too much, which I can certainly understand, I like Kayce’s idea of posting perhaps weekly or every other day.

    1. Thanks Lucia. A commitment to post every day is actually easier for me than to try and pick up where I left off more than a day before.

      It just seems like it’s time to be more than a one trick pony.

      My only concern is the possibility of loosing those who like only one or some of the things I do. So I will try to vary the length of my posts, as well as the subjects, and to keep them as interesting as I can.

      As always, your following along and your comments are always appreciated.

  7. Ok, Here are my thoughts…LESS POSTING….MORE PAINTING….more dancing and fire up the books that I know are waiting to be written and make something beautiful in that lovely ancient adobe garage and take a 30 minute walk everyday and…and….and…oh yes only one blog because we all love the varied interests you share and would not want to miss any of it.

    1. You seem to be in the majority with your vote, Cheryl. Duly noted.

      But you doesn’t has to call me Mr.

      Click here…http://youtu.be/qoYsfbq3vMc

      You can call me John, or you can call me Johnny, or you can call me Juanito, or you can call me Juan Viejo, or you can…

Leave a Reply

