RECENT SKETCHES / TWO APPROACHES

I just can't seem to find time to do my post on the San Juan Market in Mexico City, yet.

But I did promise to post something every day, so here are some sketches from the past couple of days.

The first three are part of my experiment of blowing up my travel research images from the iPad onto the big screen tv, and drawing on my iPhone.

One advantage of working this way is that I can get more than one go at a passing subject as I did with this tourist couple. Back on April 10, I did something similar, yet different. I blew up iPhone images to draw from on my iPad. These newer ones are a bit looser and less overworked. Part of that is intentional. I was deliberately trying to work faster, more like on-the-spot sketching. I don't know, yet, what difference it made, drawing on the iPad versus the iPhone. Probably not much. We'll see.

Whether from life, from photos, or from video, I really love drawing on the iPhone, especially the 6+, with its larger screen. And for stealth drawing in public, it is still small enough and unobtrusive enough.

Besides, just as photographers say, the best camera is the camera you have with you. So, too, the best sketchpad is the sketchpad that is always with me, my iPhone 6+

The following faces are what I like to do when watching tv. At least my time isn't completely wasted, eh?

Now that's what I call exercise. I know, I know, that's not the only kind of execise I need. Well, we did go out dancing a few nights ago. And we almost did again last night. Honest.

My sincere thanks to all who have already commented on yesterday's post. Your suggestions are being seriously considered. Replies coing soon. Promise.

And to those who might still comment, I'm kind of shooting in the dark without your input.

Hasta Mañana

 

2 thoughts on “RECENT SKETCHES / TWO APPROACHES

  1. Can you simulate watercolor with the ipad 6+? Meaning sketches like these today with an overlay of watercolor. I love your watercolors and would like to see that. As always your skill with movement and gesture is without peer.

    1. Actually, that is possible, and I intend to experiment with it in the future. For now, though, I’m working on improving my line and striving to find and develop my own voice. I find the magic of drawing with just my finger, no stylus, no pen, pencil or brush rewarding, direct, and unusually personal.

      Having said that, I expect that the satisfaction I get from the application and manipulation of my first love, watercolor, will be really hard to beat.

      Maybe I will eventually print my iPad drawings onto watercolor paper, then paint them traditionally.

Leave a Reply

