LEAVING FLAGSTAFF, AND TAOS, AND PHOENIX

I left Flagstaff on June 27, heading out the old highway, “Historic Route 66”, past the Santa Fe Railroad's giant cinder pit at Winona,

and stopped for a nostalgic shot of the old bridge that was such a thrill to me as a five or six year old boy, standing in the front seat of Grampa's two-tone 1941 Oldsmobile coupe on the way back to Flagstaff following our many trips to visit family in Winslow.

I stopped at Canyon Diablo for a quick “selfie” among the ruins of the old roadside attraction “zoo”.

But my main interest was rocks for a series of paintings I'm considering. Rocks like these just north of Meteor Crater.

I made my way through Winslow and Holbrook, then turned north to Ganado and over to Window Rock and Fort Defiance to photograph the rock formations there.

After sundown, I went on into Gallup for dinner and made camp in Fordacho.

The next morning I started out old “66”, and took every opportunity to cross the railroad tracks, followIng dirt roads out among the red rocks, gathering more research for that series of paintings I’m thinking of starting.

I continued like this all the way to Grants, then, after taking a brief detour into the pueblo at Laguna, for more photographs, of course, I made my way to Albuquerque and on to Santa Fe where I camped for the night. Oh, and I met an interesting young man, on my way to Grants, that I will tell you about the first chance I get.

A lot has happened since then. We just returned late Friday night, July 24th, from a second trip to Phoenix. Thea has undergone two eye surgeries. One for cataracts and one for glaucoma. She's doing fine, and her recovery is progressing better than expected.

We've been burning up the roads between Taos and Phoenix, and I've been working on a “secret” project hat I hope to tell you all about soon. So please be patient and do stay tuned.

To be Continued…

 

3 thoughts on “LEAVING FLAGSTAFF, AND TAOS, AND PHOENIX

  1. So glad to hear from you and see these photos. They look exactly like a Farnsworth painting already! Especially the first one with the single stunning cloud. All our best wishes to you and to Thea.

  2. PRIMO, STUNNING PHOTOGRAPHS! THE CLARITY IS AMAZING. ARE YOU USING A DIFFERENT CAMERA OR WAS IT JUST INCREDIBLY CLEAR DAYS! GLAD TO HEAR THAT THEA’S SURGERY WENT WELL. GIVE HER A HUG FROM ME. KAYCE

  3. Seeing these wonderful pictures makes me sad because I can’t be there in person. Give Thea a hug for me. You both are in my prayers. Hugs and Kisses for both of you.

Leave a Reply

