COTTON CANDY

COTTON CANDY / iPhone 6s Plus / Snapseed

On my way home from a quick run to deliver a new painting to Barry Norris Studio for scanning, I glanced out my driver's side window and saw this delicate pink cloud. I pulled my iPhone from my shirt pocket, and as soon as I was stopped behind other cars at a stoplight, I glanced down, hit the home button and flicked the little camera button up with my thumb. The light changed and we started moving. The side of the highway was packed with buildings, trees, poles wires, and street lights, blocking my shot.

Then I spotted a long, empty stretch coming up with just a field of sage stretching away toward the Sangre de Cristo mountains. Hoping the view wouldn't be blocked by poles and wires, I kept my left hand on the steering wheel and my eyes on the road ahead. I held the camera with my right hand, reaching across to place the camera near the closed window, and fired off four quick shots as I passed the clearing.

The fourth shot was the best. All it needed was a slight rotation to level it, some spotting where there was a slight reflection, and the usual mild adjustments, all done in Snapseed on my iPad Air 2.

And there you have it.

Hasta mañana.

 

2 thoughts on “COTTON CANDY

  1. Beautiful picture John! It’s been a while since i looked at your website, so I clicked through, wanted to see what was in the giftshop but this link is not working. It looks like someone didn’t renew the domain to me.

    Denise

Leave a Reply

