PACKING, UNPACKING, REPACKING

PACKING, UNPACKING, REPACKING / iPhone 6s Plus / Snapseed

What a day. First, I decided my old standby wheeled backpack was just heavier than it nneded to be. So I started by eliminating things that I had been dragging around, yet never, or seldom using..

Out went the tripod. Ditto the monopod. Next the painting gear and supplies. I'm headed out on a photo shoot, not a painting trip. Besides, the last time I lugged around all my painting stuff, I ended uo painting with my finger on the iPad, anyway. Right down to things like shampoo, mouthwash, and toothpaste, that I could buy shortly after landing.

I was tired of dragging my roller bag behind me. Last time I was in Spain, I bought a four-wheeler. Much better for strolling through airports! But it was larger, so , of course, I filled it full of even more unneeded stuff. And lugging either bag up and down stairs was getting to be a pain in the – neck, and back and feet and other parts of this, harumph, mid to late middle aged body

Besides, I like to think of myself as some sort of minimalist. i do paint with only my (Un)Limited palette, after all, and much prefer my iPad over computers and laptops, my iPhone over more “serious” cameras. One other thing. You just can't access all those super important items in your backpack without wrestling it off and back on again. So, I came up with this idea:

Two cross body bags, sort of like panniers on a Grand Canyon mule. Hey, who said “jackass”?

Well, anyway, I got from around twenty plus pounds down to eleven. I strapped them on, Thea took the photos, and I walked from one end of the house to the other. (We live in a very long, narrow, typical northern New Mexico adobe farm house.) Oof! Eleven pounds on my shoulders turned out to be considerably heavier than twenty on wheels. I still liked the accessibility factor, though, and thought maybe I could still do better. And I did. Got it all down to seven and a half pounds. Much better.

I'm going to sleep on it, now, and see if I have any new ideas come morning. If I have time tomorrow, I'll show you what I've ended up with and give you a more detailed look at what's involved.

Hasta mañana.

 

2 thoughts on “PACKING, UNPACKING, REPACKING

  1. You ARE a minimalist. We love that about you. You have taught us all some lessons on that. Here is a tip I think a got from you: you can make a paint box in an Altoid mint metal box. I love that.

    1. Happy to reprort: the “pannier” idea is working better than expected. Looks a little dorky, but sure got me on and off the plane without a hitch. Now if I could just figure out a way to get some legroom, and keep the lady in front of me from doing a full recline. 😉

Leave a Reply

