THE SWIMMER

IMG_5703.JPG

THE SWIMMER / Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires, Argentina / iPhone 6s Plus / Snapseed

I was nearing the end of a long, hot day of exploring the Palermos Soho neighborhood in Buenos Aires, near Palermo Viejo, where I’ve been renting an apartment this month. I was leaving the Distrito Arcos outdoor shopping mall, a huge, crowded mall, filled with last minute shoppers, when I happened to glance upwards and a pattern of dark, angular shapes, clad in stylish corrugated, deliberately rusted steel, offset by rectangular apartment buildings bathed in late afternoon sunlight, stark against the blue Argentinian sky caught my eye. A quick snap for future reference and I moved on.

Days later, looking through my images, this scene again caught my eye. That’s when I first noticed the fascinating sculptural, muralistic detail of partiers on the top of the building, an integral part of the architecture. I thought this was definitely worth featuring and began tweaking the perspective, experimenting with cropping, subtly bringing out the color and detail. Then I saw him. A tiny, shirtless figure, high on the left side of the building. I zoomed in, saw rhe glass panels that surely meant he was enjoying relaxing, sunning himself, beside a rooftop swimming pool. That did it! A bit more cleaning up and Bingo! There was my post for today, both on Instagram and this blog.

I hope you will enjoy discovering The Swimmer as much as I did.

Chau, Hasta luego…

Follow along, see what I see, as I travel with my iCamera in Mexico, Argentina, and beyond. I will be traveling light, moving slow, planning as little as possible. Mostly street photography, but anything else that catches my eye

 

One thought on “THE SWIMMER

  1. Hope this goes thru. Made another mistake and hit the wrong key. Now trying to get back on.

    On Wed, Dec 28, 2016 at 7:14 PM, A FARNSWORTH A DAY wrote:

    > afarnsworthaday posted: ” THE SWIMMER / Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires, > Argentina / iPhone 6s Plus / Snapseed I was nearing the end of a long, hot > day of exploring the Palermos Soho neighborhood in Buenos Aires, near > Palermo Viejo, where I’ve been renting an apartment this month. I” >

Leave a Reply

