The Reach

IMG_8492

I was pushing my shopping cart through the supermarket near my apartment in Buenos Aires, when I spotted this little old lady standing on her tiptoes, straining, stretching, reaching and feeling all the apples at the top of the display, unwilling to settle for any but the very best.

As Chase Jarvis so wisely said, the best camera is the one you have with you. Of course, mine was in my pocket. I whipped it out and caught this scene that lasted but a moment.

I might have kept this memory without my iCamera, but I wouldn’t have been able to share it with the world, which I love doing.

This is why I am so pleased with my iPhone. Sure, I could take tack sharp photos of the pupil in the eye of a condor soaring above the Andes if I had a “better” bigger, more expensive camera with a long lens, a tripod, and someone to carry it all.

For capturing these small, intimate, human moments that I most enjoy taking and sharing, though, the iPhone is my camera of choice.

And it’s always with me.

Leave a Reply

