Before and After

I love my iPhone. I guess you already knew that. I take it with me everywhere. Use it every single day. But it ain’t perfect. That’s where I come in.

You see, my iPhone has a brain. It’s very smart. A whole lot smarter than I am! It can calculate and translate and cogitate faster and better than I can. Google, anyone? Wiki?

For now, let’s just focus in on the camera part of the phone, or the iCamera, as I prefer to think of it.

Once I point it at something I find interesting, that brain takes over, analyzes the scene, the light, the contrast, colors, motion involved, etc. it takes in all that information and adjusts it in a very intelligent way and presents me with a pleasant, averaged image.

JPEG image-1756D82A791E-1.jpeg

 

It does that by performing most of the chores that the photographer formerly had to do with the old, hand cranked picture makers before digital came along. Things like shutter speed, iso, aperture, etc.

In other words, with it’s powerful new brain, my iCamera can take over most of the decision making chores when TAKING the photograph.

So. Beyond finding a subject and pressing the shutter, what am I good for? Plenty!

I have a heart and a soul. I can look at that perfectly average image and visualize something more. I can exaggererate, manipulate, develop, caress and massage that image.

I can create!

Not just recreate, replicate, duplicate, copy what’s in front of me.

As smart as it is, my camera is a machine.

I am an artist!

share-151.JPG

“You don’t take a photograph, you make it.” Ansel Adams

3 thoughts on “Before and After

  1. SO GLAD you’re blogging again John. Like Thea says you’re a great teacher, AND you’re an inspiration. Love this photo. And the one of the Taos church from yesterday is absolutely Divine.

Leave a Reply

