RIDE ‘IM, COWBOY / Daily Painting #1047

Pen / Ink / Watercolor / 6 x 6 inches

Now for something really different. I haven't done any of these in quite a while. here's what I had to say about them on my website:

I started drawing in ink and adding watercolor accents a couple of years ago as a relief from the intensity of my other work. I found it such a delightful and refreshing way of working that I started calling the results “Confections”. They were like dessert to me; a sweet treat, a reward. I also started using this technique for preliminary studies for commissions and other large paintings. Apparently collectors get as much of a kick out of them as I do, as I can barely keep up with the demand. They make great beginning collector pieces, gifts, and small, personal parts of existing collections.

Since I started the daily series of smaller paintings, I've felt less of a need to do these. But every so often I do get the urge. And, since I don't do any preliminary drawing on the paintings, I get kind of lonesome for drawing. So, I've decided to add an occasional confection to the mix. Let me know if you would like to see them become a regular feature here.

I sort of snuck up on myself with this, so I haven't had much time to think about how to fit them in. To make up for the sudden way this has come up, I've decided to suspend the regular auction for a day. Instead, I'm offering this first one to the first person in with a $100 bid.

That's right, the first hundred takes it. Don't wait!

If you would like to own today's painting, just send your bid in an email to: farnsworthgallery@newmex.com, or call Thea at 505 982-4561

Touch here to see more confections.

It’s time to start getting ready for THE KACHINAS ARE COMING. That’s the big Kachina show Thea wil be putting on of my Kachina paintings the first of September at David Anthony Fine Arts, here in Taos. I hope to see you there!

David Anthony Fine Art, 132 Kit Carson, Taos, New Mexico, September 01 to October 05, 2012. Reception September 6, 5 to 7pm

Click Here to see my Daily Photographs

Please remember that if you would like to commission a larger version of your favorite subject, if you would like to check on the availability of a given image, or if you would like to schedule a workshop, we are just a phone call away, at 505 982-4561, or you can email us at: john@johnfarnsworth.com

 

3 thoughts on “RIDE ‘IM, COWBOY / Daily Painting #1047

Leave a Reply

