Clandestine

CLANDESTINE

Oil on Panel / 6 x 6 inches / ©John Farnsworth

If you would like to own this painting, just email your bid to: bid@johnfarnsworth.com

TAOS PEARS AT NIGHT

My friend Walt Gonske told me recently that he’s been setting up floral still lifes outdoors. I haven’t had a chance to see any of them yet, but I guess the idea has been working its way around inside my noggin. Another friend and neighbor, John Kulhanek, brought us some pears from his tree. In order to be sure I could paint them, I hurried to take some photos before we broke down and ate them. I’ve been wanting to do some more fruit and bone images, so I took them out on the portal and posed them with some skulls and antlers. Then I thought, why not use some of that glorious sunshine and see if what I’d been missing. So I took them out into the sun and shot several photos.

Wow! That sun was so bright, even though it was late in the day, that the images were all burned out. Bland and blah. Oh well, it never hurts to play around a bit with photos that didn’t work out right. I opened one in ACDSee and started messing with the exposure. Its a good idea sometimes to take the slider in an editing feature all the way to the extreme far end and work your way back to the sweet spot. I moved the slider all the way and  found the inspiration for this painting. Suddenly what had been not only a terribly over exposed photo, but a boring one as well, became the secret night time rendezvous of three conspiratorial pears!  I couldn’t wait to paint it.  I can almost hear their hushed voices.

Thea said the other day, wouldn’t a group of these small paintings of fruit be an exciting addition to someone’s kitchen? I sure think so. What do you think? What sort of groupings do you have, or would you like to have of these daily paintings? We would love to hear your ideas.

 

NIGHTMARE Daily Photograph #1,672

While shopping in an antiques warehouse in Tucson a couple of years ago, we came across this East Indian hand carved wooden horse.

NIGHTMARE

NIGHTMARE

I upped the contrast, added the moon and eliminated some clutter in the background.

The Kachinas are Coming

It’s time to get ready for THE KACHINAS ARE COMING. That’s the big 43rd Annual Kachina show Thea wil be putting on of my Kachina paintings the first of September at David Anthony Fine Arts, here in Taos. I hope to see you there!

David Anthony Fine Art, 132 Kit Carson, Taos, New Mexico, September 01 to October 05, 2012. Reception September 1, 5 t0 7pm

See the August/September issue of the SANTA FEAN magazine, page 90 for a write-up on the show.

 

Are you enjoying these daily paintings, photos and writings? If you are, please help us out by clicking on the Google+, Facebook, and Twitter Icons below. And share us with your friends. And, by all means, leave a comment. Thanks!

4 thoughts on “CLANDESTINE Daily Painting #702

  1. I have 3 fruit paintings in my kitchen.

    Sent from my oh so cool and wonderful iPhone from wherever I am at the moment!

  2. NIGHTMARE is truly a work of art. Is he what is left over from woodworkers of the past? The painting of the fruit would really fit in my kitchen. It is really beautiful.

Leave a comment